# **KDASC District Convention Minutes For 3/5/22**

#### **Officer Introductions**

	<u>Name</u>	<b>School</b>	Advisor(s)
<b>President:</b>	Kyle Meccoli	SJO	Jeff Kieffer
Vice President:	Ava Eckley	Mahomet	Jaime Colbert & Lizzie Paragi
Secretary:	Paige Siegmund	SJO	Jeff Kieffer
Treasurer:	Sophia Darnall	Unity	Jennifer Meyer & Taylor Sharp
Historian:	Elise Johnson	Unity	Jennifer Meyer & Taylor Sharp
Virtual Historian:	Izzy Hoth	Shiloh	Dorene Boland
Webmaster:	Elle Jones	Tuscola	Suzanne Rominger
<b>Convention Secretary:</b>	Sydney Reitmeier	SJO	Jeff Kieffer

# I. Call To Order of the First General Session at 9:27 am in the Heritage Hall of the I Hotel.

# II. Pledge of Allegiance

Led by Vice President Ava Eckley.

#### III. Roll Call

	<u>School</u>	<b>Students</b>	<u>Advisors</u>
0	Armstrong	6	1
0	Mahomet-Seymour	3	3
0	Oakwood	4	2
0	Rantoul	1	2
0	St. Joseph-Ogden	13	1
0	Shiloh	7	1
0	Tuscola	4	1
0	Unity	13	1

# IV. Officer Reports

- Paige Siegmund gave her report. Teagan Miller from SJO moved to accept the 2021 District Convention minutes and the Secretary's report as read and Brianna Reese from Shiloh seconded that motion. The motion carried.
- Sophia Darnall gave her report. Hanna Mataya from Unity moved to accept the Treasurer's report as read, with the balance standing at \$19,612.41 as of 1/3/22, pending Convention and district event expenses. Jacob Smith from Shiloh seconded that motion and the motion carried.
- Elise Johnson gave her report, including recapping all of the district events from the year and directing people to her tri-fold that will be displayed at IASC State Convention. Kyle McFarland from Oakwood moved to accept the Historian's report as read and Hayden Lewis from SJO seconded that motion. The motion carried.
- Elle Jones gave her report, discussing what it took to continually update the KDASC website and social medias. Caleb Haste from Tuscola moved to accept the Webmaster's report as read and Kennedy Brown from Shiloh seconded that motion. The motion carried.
- Izzy Hoth gave her report and talked about how she enjoyed taking pictures of all of the events
  this year and compiling them into a slideshow. Ashlynn Pinnick from Oakwood moved to accept
  the Virtual Historian's report and slideshow as presented and Raeanna Boyer from Tuscola
  seconded that motion. The motion carried.

• Ava Eckley gave her report, in which she directed everybody to look at the district newsletters, supplied both in delegates' folders and online in the shared district Google Drive she created, as well as speaking to how Vice President is a very flexible role in which future officers can challenge themself to be as useful as possible. Ava Eckley from Mahomet moved to accept the Vice President's report as read and Emily Milburn from Shiloh seconded that motion. The motion carried.

# V. Proposed Amendments to the KDASC Constitution

• No new amendments to the KDASC Constitution were submitted for consideration this year.

# VI. Project Linus

- We were able to make 5 blankets at Convention to donate to Project Linus as well as supply them with enough materials to make 5 more blankets.
- These schools made and brought this many blankets to be donated. Thank you for your contributions!

1.	Armstrong	12
2.	Mahomet-Seymour	5
3.	Oakwood	6
4.	Shiloh	19
5.	Unity	14

• Mary Balagna, the Project Linus National Vice President and Chapter Coordinator for Central Illinois, accepted our total donation of 61 blankets and our monetary donation of \$300 to her organization. She was very appreciative of our efforts and gave a very moving presentation about how monumentally impactful the blanket donations can be on children's lives.

# VII. Keynote Speaker

- Our keynote speaker, Mr. Jay Johnson, spoke on his topic "Who Are You Listening To?" and encouraged all in attendance to be kind, be brave, and constantly question whom you're looking up to.
- A donation of \$300 was presented to Mr. Johnson's charity of choice, Bengal Rural Renewal.
   This charity is the work of one of his friends in Bangladesh that he met on his explorations around the world, who unfortunately recently passed.

# VIII. KDASC Officer Nominations and Speeches

- No nominations from the floor were received for any of the KDASC officer positions.
- The following candidates for KDASC district offices gave campaign speeches.
  - 1. With recommendation from the Credentials Committee, Sophomore Emily Milburn from Shiloh ran for the position of Virtual Historian.
  - 2. With recommendation from the Credentials Committee, Freshman Sydney Reitmeier from Saint Joseph-Ogden ran for the position of Vice President.
  - 3. With recommendation from the Credentials Committee, Sophomore Brogan Hennesy from Mahomet-Seymour ran for the position of Vice President.
  - 4. With recommendation from the Credentials Committee, Junior Emily Elsbernd from Saint Joseph-Ogden ran for the position of President.

#### IX. KDASC Officer Elections

- The first general session was recessed at 11:21 am for the schools to meet with each candidate. The motion to recess, which carried, was made by Teagan Miller from SJO and seconded by Sophia Darnall from Unity.
- o Schools cast their ballots for candidates.

- With recommendation from the Credentials Committee, Freshman Sydney Reitmeier from Saint Joseph-Ogden ran for the position of Secretary.
- Schools cast secondary ballots for the position of Secretary.
- o The first general session was reconvened at 12:08 pm by KDASC President Kyle Meccoli.

# X. Adjournment of the First General Session at 12:10 pm

Sophia Darnall from Unity moved to adjourn and Brianna Reese from Shiloh seconded. The motion carried.

# I. Call To Order of the Second General Session at 1:33 pm in the Heritage Hall of the I Hotel

# **II.** Presentation of Honor Delegate Certificates

• Honor delegate certificates were presented to Ashlynn Pinnick and Emily Elsbernd for leading discussion groups and Fiona Xiao and Will Besson for being recorders.

# III. Presidential Address

• Kyle Meccoli gave his presidential address.

# IV. Installation of 2022-2023 KDASC Officers

- o Emily Milburn was installed as the 2022-2023 Virtual Historian by Izzy Hoth.
- Sydney Reitmeier was installed as the 2022-2023 Secretary by former Secretary Ava Eckley, in place of Secretary Paige Siegmund.
- o Brogan Hennesy was installed as the 2022-2023 Vice President by Ava Eckley.
- Emily Elsbernd was installed as the 2022-2023 President by Kyle Meccoli.
- Webmaster, State Liason, Historian, and Treasurer will become appointed positions at the File Swap meeting, to be held during Hospitality Night at Oakwood. Applications for these positions will be accepted until April 5th.
- Until that meeting, the old and new officers will work together on any KDASC matters.

# V. Adjournment of the Second General Session and the 2022 District Convention at 1:52 pm by new KDASC President, Emily Elsbernd.

 Teagan Miller from SJO moved to adjourn and the motion was seconded by Zach Dahman from SJO. The motion carried.